Believe it or Not: Nigerian Ministers Earn More Than Barack Obama

The list of Nigerian ministers sworn in by President Muhammadu Buhari on Wednesday, November 11, are paid N487 million as an annual compensation.

If you compare that to President Barack Obama, who earns $400,000 annually you can see that the difference is clear.

The present compensation packets that were approved by the Revenue Mobilization, Allocation and Fiscal Commission (RMAFC), are governed by the Nigerian Remuneration Act of 2007.

In June 2015, the RMAFC went under way the procedure for a downward audit of the current compensations and allowances of political, open and legal office holders. The audits got to be basic following the government incomes created by falling costs in the global oil market. New packages arranged by the board of trustees have recently been confirmed at a retreat held for the chiefs of the office.

However, the ministers are people in the Executive Cabinet of Nigeria headed by the current President of the federation: Mohammed Buhari.

This article exposes the entire salary structure of Nigerian ministers in Buhari’s cabinet, and allowances given to the 19 ministers of the Federal Republic of Nigeria.

Keep in mind that the information on the salaries of Nigeria’s current ministers appointed by President Muhammadu Buhari is defined out for public consumption. In other words, most of the allowances are not pertaining to the duties assigned to each of them. There are 19 ministers in the Cabinet of Nigeria and you can also find the full list of current Nigerian ministers at the end of the article.

Below, you will find the breakdown of salaries of current Nigerian ministers and their portfolios:

According to the current package, Babatunde Fashola, the minister of power, works and housing, Rotimi Amaechi, the minister of transport, Lai Mohammed, the minister of Information and culture, and also other senior ministers will be entitled to receive N4,052,800 as housing allowance.

  • Each ministers will receive N6,079,200 as furniture allowance – paid once in 4 years.
  • Each Nigerian Minister will receive N8,105,600 as vehicle allowance – The vehicle allowance is a loan the minister has to pay back before the end of the tenure.
  • The basic annual salary of each of functional minister is N2,026,400 (N168,866.66 monthly).
  • Each month, the ministers receive a vehicle fueling and a maintenance allowance of N1,519,800 (total annually).
  • Each of the senior ministers receive a payment of N1,519,800 for domestic staff, N911,880 annually – for entertainment, N607,920 – for utilities, N405,280 – for monitoring, N303,960 – for periodicals.
  • So, the annual allowances for each minister in Nigeria are N13,374,240, excluding the vehicle allowance that is optional
  • However, each of the ministers in Buhari’s cabinet receives N3,915,160 as housing allowance and N5,872,740 for furniture allowance.
  • Apart from the senior counterparts, each state ministers also receive a vehicle fueling and a maintenance allowance of N1,468,185 ( in a year).
  • Also, each of the state ministers receive N880,911 per year for entertainment, N587,274 – for utilities, N293,637 – for periodicals (Newspapers). The federal government is projected to pay the state ministers the amount not less than N163,765,316 annually.

The Names of Nigerian Ministers – Full List of Current Nigerian Ministers

  1. Chris Ngige – (Anambra) Minister of Labour & Employment
  2. Kayode Fayemi- (Ekiti) Minister of Solid Minerals
  3. Rotimi Amaechi – (Rivers) Minister of Transportation
  4. Babatunde Fashola -(Lagos) Minister of Power, Works and Housing
  5. Abdulrahman Dambazau- (Kano) Minister of Interior
  6. Aisha Alhassan – (Taraba) Minister of Women Affairs
  7. Ogbonaya Onu- (Ebonyi) Minister of Science and Technology
  8. Kemi Adeosun – (Ogun) Minister of Finance
  9. Abubakar Malami – (Kebbi) Minister of Justice & Attorney-General
  10. Sen Hadi Sirika – (Katsina) Minister of State, Aviation
  11. Barr. Adebayo Shittu – (Oyo) Minister of Communication
  12. Suleiman Adamu – (Jigawa) Minister of Water Resources
  13. Solomon Dalong – (Plateau) Minister for Youth and Sports
  14. Ibe Kachikwu – (Delta) Minister of State, Petroleum
  15. Osagie Ehanire – (Edo) Minister of State, Health
  16. Audu Ogbeh – (Benue) Minister of Agriculture
  17. Udo Udo Udoma – (Akwa Ibom) Minister of Budget & National Planning
  18. Lai Mohammed – (Kwara) Minister of Information
  19. Amina Mohammed – (Gombe) Minister of Environment
  20. Ibrahim Usman Jibril – (Nasarawa) Minister of State, Environment
  21. Hajia Khadija Bukar Ibrahim- (Yobe) Minister of State, Foreign Affairs
  22. Cladius Omoleye Daramola (Ondo) Minister of State, Niger Delta
  23. Prof Anthony Onwuka (Imo) Minister of State, Education
  24. Geoffrey Onyema (Enugu) Minister of Foreign Affairs
  25. Dan Ali (Zamfara) Minister of Defence
  26. Barr James Ocholi (Kogi) Minister of State, Labour & Employment
  27. Zainab Ahmed (Kaduna) Minister of State Budget and National Planning
  28. Okechukwu Enelamah (Abia) Minister of Trade, Investment & Industry
  29. Muhammadu Bello (Adamawa) Minister of Federal Capital Territory
  30. Mustapha Baba Shehuri (Bornu) Minister of State, Power
  31. Aisha Abubakar (Sokoto) Minister of State, Trade & Investment
  32. Heineken Lokpobiri (Bayelsa) Minister of State, Agriculture
  33. Adamu Adamu (Bauchi) Minister of Education
  34. Isaac Adewole (Osun) Minister of Health
  35. Abubakar Bawa Bwari (Niger) Minister of State, Solid Minerals
  36. Pastor Usani Uguru (Cross River) Minister of Niger Delta

* President Muhammadu Buhari- Minister of Petroleum

One thing to note is that the current ministers in Nigeria are paid more than the former ministers in the past administrations due to current economic slump which demanded the increase in the remuneration package in the Nigerian ministers.

Do you have anything else to add to this article? Leave your comment below.

Leave a Reply