6 Month Passport Validity Rule For Entering the U.S

As a frequent flyer, I have received several questions about 6 months validity rule passport.

I have tried to explain that in this article: Do you need a passport to go to Canada? Although, the answers I provided to the questions were helpful, but I will explain it further in this article about the six months validity passport rule for different countries.

As a general rule, a passport needs to have at least 6 months of validity while traveling internationally.

Most countries will not allow a traveler to enter their country unless the passport is set to expire in six months after the final day of travel. This means that if your passport has less than six months remaining before the expiration date, you must renew it immediately.

Adult passports (16 years and older) for U.S. citizens are valid for 10 years, while minor passports (15 years and younger) for U.S. citizens are valid for 5 years. You can find more passport requirements about the U.S on the states travel website, and they differ from country to country. Make sure to check the entry and exit requirements for each country you’re planning to visit.

Six months Validity Passport Rule Exceptions

Some countries will careless more about the six months passport validity rule. Canada and Mexico are the two most commonly traveled countries that now enforce the passport 6 month validity rule.

Again, make sure to check on each countries entry and exit travel requirements before you travel. In most cases, you should have at least more than six month validity on your passport before you travel.

Why the 6 months validity passport rule?

It is not a requirement from the U.S. government. The six month validity passport rule is a requirement of other countries accepting foreign travelers. The six month passport validity rule is enforced because nations don’t want to risk having travelers and tourists overstaying their passport validity.

The 6 months rule is the standard validity rule for many countries now. Most visitors to the United States are also enforced to have 6 months validity on their passports. So, keep this in mind before making plans for your next travel to the U.S.

Which countries ask for six months validity on your passport?

Requirements for each country are likely to change at any time without your consent. Please contact the country’s embassy or consulate center directly. The list provided below is designed to serve as a helpful guideline for countries that enforce the 6 months validity passport rule.

  • Albania
  • Angola
  • Bahrain
  • Belize
  • Bolivia
  • Botswana
  • Brazil
  • Brunei
  • Burma (Myanmar)
  • Burundi
  • China
  • Cote d’Ivoire (Ivory Coast)
  • Ecuador (including Galápagos Islands)
  • French Polynesia
  • Guyana
  • Honduras
  • Indonesia
  • Iran
  • Iraq
  • Israel*
  • Kenya
  • Kiribati
  • Laos
  • Madagascar
  • Malaysia
  • Mauritius
  • Micronesia**
  • Mozambique
  • Namibia
  • New Caledonia
  • Nicaragua (currently waived by bilateral agreement)
  • Oman
  • Palau
  • Papua New Guinea
  • Philippines
  • Russian Federation
  • Saudi Arabia
  • Singapore
  • Taiwan
  • Tajikistan
  • Tanzania
  • Thailand
  • Timor-Leste (East Timor)
  • Turkey
  • Turkmenistan
  • Uganda
  • Ukraine
  • Venezuela
  • Vietnam
  • Zambia

Leave a Reply